Know the TOE! SPANK ME NOW!!! older entries newest entry

Fish dream

So I had a long dream about an interminable fight with some fish on a charter boat expedition. A real "Old man and the Sea" experience. The fight lasted for what seemed hours, and then when I managed to land said fish, it turned out to be just a little guy somewhat similar to a kingfish. I threw his ass in the freezer just the same.

The time is fast approaching where I will journey south to my beloved Corpus Christi Bay in search of solitude and redfish. I caught a 32 incher in knee deep water on April Fool's Day of 2000 using a fresh-water baitcasting rig and a D.O.A. shrimp. An epic battle, that was. I use a kayak to cover more water, now. But that day I waded about 4 miles. It was a hard day. Redfish fight harder than just about any fish except probably Peacock Bass and big Smoker Kingfish. And those giant tarpon that haunt the Bob Hall Pier. I like fishin'.

I hope the crazy-assed mexicans quit shooting at each other at least during my visit. Crazy vatos locos para siempre.

8:40 a.m. 2006-03-14

previous - next

hosted by DiaryLand.com